National Sports & Adventure Awards presented

President Kovind presented the National Sports & Adventure Awards today.

He conferred the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2018 upon Virat Kohli in recognition of his outstanding achievements in Cricket.

Prominent among those who received the Arjuna awards are:

Hima Das for her outstanding achievements in Athletics.

Manpreet Singh for Hockey.

Sathiyan for his outstanding achievements in Table Tennis.


President Kovind presented the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 2017 to Dr Anshu Jamsenpa. She is the only woman to reach the summit of Mt. Everest twice in a span of 5 days. She has climbed Mt. Everest five times and is the first Indian woman to do so.

He also presented the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 2017 to Capt Udit Thapar. He holds the distinction of being the youngest Indian skydiver at 16. He is a skydiver with 800 jumps from 15 types of aircraft & helicopters and has 500+ wingsuit flights to his credit.

President Kovind presented the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2018 to Isha Outreach in recognition of its contribution in the field of ‘Sports for Development’.

The Trust impacted 28,000 children of 40 adopted Government schools in Tamil Nadu under various programmes.

Pic Courtesy: @rashtrapathiBhvn

Leave a Reply